Scream (the original)

Scream (1996, Wes Craven)

Sidney, attempting to cope with her mother’s mysterious murder, and her horror movie-obsessed friends are stalked by an unknown killer who seems to have a hard time letting the past go.

It is funny to think that now this is a classic horror movie! I am old. I just watched the ‘Scream’ tv series on Netflix, and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was! I won’t spoil it, but I definitely think it is worth a watch, especially the first season. It is the same kind of idea as the original movies, but with new characters and updated. It is interesting to see the difference that cellphones makes!

Anyways, the first ‘Scream’ movie is a lot of fun. It opens with Drew Barrymore and her boyfriend getting sliced up by some weirdo in a mask. Neve Campbell plays the main character, Sidney Prescott, whose mother died tragically a year before and now is being terrorized by the masked weirdo. Basically, all of her friends suck. Her boyfriend is constantly pressuring her into having sex. If I was Sidney I would be happy to have some dude in a mask “gut me like a fish”. Sidney plays tough all of the time, if she isn’t crying her eyes out. She could have died right away, but somehow she gets away from the guy?!

Honestly, from the very beginning I don’t trust her boyfriend, Billy Loomis played by Skeet Ulrich. Uh, Skeet is not a name, it is something you pull and shoot. He is the annoying, 90’s boyfriend who is only interested in sex and seems to be allergic to shampoo. My favourite thing is how Billy is always around right after the masked weirdo was there. Kind of like Polkaroo, which is a very Canadian reference. The best line is when the sheriff asks Billy why he has a cellphone. It is hilarious to think that in 1996 not many people had cellphones.  Skeet has such a puppy dog face, those big brown eyes, that is sooooo punchable!

Monica Gellar is the tv reporter, who everyone hates, except for Dewey, which is ironic because they were married in real life.  I will admit that she is a real bitch in this movie.  Like, super bitch.  She is writing a book about the murder of Sidney’s mom and believes that Cotton Weary, the man who was convicted of the murder, is actually innocent.  Which, he is.  I guess they will tackle that in the sequel.

What I love about these movies is that at one point everyone seems like they could be the killer.  But in the end it is the loser boyfriend.  He was pissed because Sidney’s slut mother slept with his dad and his mommy left.  Geez, get over it dude.  This is exactly why guys need hobbies.

I really do like this movie.  It is funny, and suspenseful.  I wish I could go back in time to when I watched it for the first time.  But don’t we all wish we could re-do our first times?

Quotable: “Hey, it’s called tact, fuckrag”

 Scream receives 5 killing weirdo’s in a mask out of a possible 5.

Author: kristaskene

A movie, book, and music lover. I love to offer my, hopefully witty, and always sarcastic thoughts.

Leave a Reply

