Star Wars

Star Wars Franchise

It seems that every true Star Wars fan loves the original three movies: A new hope, The empire strikes back, and Return of the Jedi. I must admit that I have to agree, but I do this without having actually watched any of the newer films. I decided to watch the series, as George Lucas wants starting with the beginning of the story, Phantom Menace (1999). My husband does not want to watch the movies with me because he said, “once is enough”. Okay, well let’s do this!

First film: Phantom Menace!

PHANTOM MENACE (1999; 2h 16min; Dir.: George Lucas)

This movie is LONG! Like, it really could have been two movies. I don’t think that Phantom Menace is the best Star Wars movie, of course the original ones take the cake, but it is good for setting up the story, and for explaining things. For example, how the force works. It is like some sort of weird blood disease or infection, like hepatitis, but good. The amount in your blood means you can do stuff with your mind better. Cool. Now I know, and knowing is half the battle, (GI JOE).

Amidala is awesome, her outfits, her hair, her makeup! I love how her whole queen look is geisha inspired. I do not love her queen voice though. Kathleen Turner in the 90’s, meets Christian Bale as Batman. Weird.

I really think that watching this movie would be good for those who do not know a lot about Star Wars and want to understand the later movies, of course you have to be prepared to dedicate over two hours.  In general, this movie is worth a watch.  I suggest drinking every time the force is mentioned, this activity will definitely make the movie more watchable, but maybe not memorable.

Rating:  3 1/2 Yoda’s out of a possible 5.

 

Author: kristaskene

A movie, book, and music lover. I love to offer my, hopefully witty, and always sarcastic thoughts.

Leave a Reply

